

## भारतीयप्रौद्योगिकीसंस्थान (भारतीयखनिविद्यापीठ), धनबाद Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad



For Immediate Release: June 20, 2022

## **PRESS RELEASE**

IIT (ISM) gears up International Day of Yoga (IDY)) scheduled on June 21; winner of all the six categories of Open Yoga Competition to be awarded during the valedictory function.

As IIT (ISM) gears up for International Day of Yoga (IDY) celebrations scheduled on June 21(Wednesday), the results for the Open Yoga Competitions held on June 11 at the institute were announced yesterday (June 19).

Notably, Winners of Open Yoga Competition will be awarded during the valedictory function of International Day of Yoga, scheduled from 6 a.m. in lower ground of the institute on June 21. More than 500 participants of International Day of Yoga session will be provided a souvenir/apparel bearing International Day for Yoga Logo on first come and first serve basis.

Though the main function of yoga session on June 21 is scheduled in Lower Ground but in case of any unavoidable situation (rains etc) the function will be held in Sports Activity Centre (SAC) of the institute.

DN Acharya, Physical Education and Sports Teachers of IIT (ISM) said, "The practice for the Yoga session started about a month back while the open yoga competition was held on June 11"

As per the results, in Children (Male), Shreyansh Kumar (Son of Neru Kumari) won the 1<sup>st</sup> place while, Prakash and Rakesh (sons of ACS Rao) won the second and third spot repsectively. The fourth plac in category was bagged by Mayank Mahto son of Vijay Kumar Mahto.

In the Children (Female) Category, Ananya Sanjeevani (Daughter of Uttam Kumar) won the 1<sup>st</sup> place while the second position went to Shreya Kumari (Daughter of Neru Kumari).

Among the Faculty/Staff/Dependent Sourav Debnath (Central) emerged as champion while Sharvan Singh (New Lecture Hall Complex) and SP Tiwari emerged at 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> respectively.

Subhashree Pradhan of Mining Engineering Department emerged champion in the Female Faculty/Staff/Dependent Category while Nilu Kumari (Office of Dean IRAA) and Monalisa Nayak (Central Library) bagged 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> prize respectively.

Among the student (Boys), Harsh Kumar of Petroleum Engineering won the  $1^{st}$  position while Jitu Barupal (Mechanical Engineering) and Harsh Kumar Gupta (Petroleum Engineering) bagged the  $2^{nd}$  and  $3^{rd}$  places respectively.

In Student (Girls) category, Saloni Kumar of Mining Engineering department emerged winner while two participants of Mechanical Engineering Department Ushoshi Saha and Roma Singh, bagged the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> positions respectively.

Rajni Singh

Dean (Media & Branding)

Phone: (0326) 2235447, Email: dmbc@iitism.ac.in